#30 Confessions Of A Xhosa Girl 2

Vanessa was dancing on the table, the TJ guy was sitting across her cheering her on. I went over and got her off the table.

“You’re acting like Vixen!” I yelled.
“What the fuck? Why do you have to always suck the fun out of everything?” TJ asked furiously.
“You better shut up”, I said to him.
“Or what? What are you gonna do? You think you’re better with your mightier than thou attitude?” He was all up in my face. I shove him.
“Chill out, bro”, Vanessa dragged him by his hand.
“I’m chilled it’s just that I hate when a bitch thinks she’s all that when she’s not”, he said. Vanessa slapped him on the mouth.
“Are you serious? Fuck you, bruh”, TJ walked away. People were looking at us.
“You’re a bad influence”, I said to him. He stopped, and walked back to us.
“Really? What has Vanessa haven’t done? Fuck off”, he said.
“Friend, leave him alone”, Vanessa said to me. “Please go”, she said to TJ.
“I was leaving anyway”, he left.

After a while, Vanessa called her Italian friend, Frankie to come fetch us. He came instantly. He drove us home. When we got home, Sihle told me that Vixen vomited on my bed and she was sleeping there. It was so gross. Vanessa said it was okay, I can sleep with her. I was so tired, I slept instantly.

In the morning I woke up with a horrible hangover. When I went to the kitchen, Hakeem was eating bacon and eggs. Vixen was busy in the kitchen with an oversized shirt. I didn’t greet Hakeem, I only greeted Vixen.

“Hey Vixen”, I poured a glass of water.
“Hello friend. I’m sorry about your bed. I washed your linen as soon as I woke up”, she said.
“It’s okay. Thank you. Where are the others?” It was so quiet.
“Vanessa went to a ‘meeting’, Sihle went to meet her mother and sister and Puleng went to a blind date”, she replied.
“Okay. I wonder what meeting Vanessa went to. It seems like everyone got plans”, I said downing the water.
“I’m going to spend the day at Hakeem’s house”, she said.
“Now that I think about it, I have to go to the mall to do something”, I said.
“That’s better”, she said. I went to Vanessa’s bedroom to get my phone.

I called my cousin, Asisipho. I was happy to hear her voice. I told her I was going to send them R3000. She was happy to hear that, I even spoke to my grandmother. She sounded fine, I was happy that she was okay. They didn’t ask me about my mother, I was lowkey glad.

After Vixen and Hakeem left, I took a bath and got ready. Before leaving the house, I sent a message to the girls, telling them where the key was hidden just in case they arrive before me.

It wasn’t that packed at the mall. I went to send the money via Shoprite Money Market. I sent Asisipho the numbers and called her and gave her the pin code.

I heard someone calling me at the parking lot, I looked around and it was Mr Mbatha. He got out of his black Bugatti.

“Hello there, nice to meet you again”, he said. He was wearing an expensive looking suit. He looked like he was going to attend an awards ceremony.
“Hi, nice to meet you too”, I said nervously.
“Are you in a rush?” He asked. I wanted to say yes but I thought, I was going to get home and nobody would be back yet. I’d spend the day alone and get bored to death.
“No, I’m not”, I replied.
“I want us to grab something to eat and talk, you know”, he said.
“I’d love that”, I said. He opened his car door. “Please wait for me here. I need to be somewhere, it won’t take long”, he said. I got into the car.

It looked like I was in a spaceship. The interior looked out of this world. I watched him disappear then I took multiple selfies. I waited for a long time, he said he wasn’t going to take long but it was an hour or so. He finally came back.

“I’m sorry, I know I said I wasn’t going to take long but I also didn’t know it was going to take that long”, he said.
“It’s okay”, I said.
“Thank you for being so understanding”, he smiled.

Moments later, his phone rang, he answered it. I saw his facial expression changing, he dropped the phone.
“Satan doesn’t rest. That was my partner, he wants to see me, he says it will be brief. We’re meeting at Martin’s. I’m so sorry, we will still go out. Let me drive there then we can go to a fancy restaurant”, he said. I nodded, I didn’t have much to say.

He told me about his new restaurant in Pretoria he opened with his partner friend. I was shy to ask if he had any kids. We arrived at Martin’s. People were looking at the car, he got out, I waited for him in the car. Just minutes after he got into Martin’s, I saw Nosipho entering Martin’s, I made sure she didn’t see me. She got out with Thando, they spoke for a while before parting ways.

After 30 minutes, Mr Mbatha got out. He entered the car.

“Are you okay?” He asked.
“Yes”, I smiled.

There was a knock on the window.

“You forgot your pen”, this voice said. It sounded familiar, when I looked, it was Thando.

“Hey Yoliswa”, he greeted me. I could see he wasn’t expecting to see me there. I gave him the nod of acknowledgment.
“Thank you, man. We’ll talk later tonight”, Mr Mbatha drove away.
“You guys know each other?” He asked.
“Yeah, I’m friends with his cousin sister”, I said.
“Alright. We’re going to my other restaurant”, he said.

I thought, this man is filthy rich. I wasn’t familiar with the surroundings we were in but it was a wealthy neighbourhood. He parked at the parking lot, across a very fancy restaurant called La Concuna.

“This is it”, he said. He quickly got out of the car and opened the door for me.
“Thank you”, I got out. I felt like such a lady.

When we entered the restaurant, people showed him so much respect. It was like he was a president. A waiter led us to a table.

He was really great company, the food was amazing, it was so delicious. He told me his funny childhood stories and his come up stories in the business world. I had so much fun but I was still nervous. He told me I should call him Walter. We spent hours in the restaurant, I was having such a good time.

It didn’t feel like Sunday.

Leave a comment