#10 Who Killed Majola?

The next day, Michelle was arrested and taken to the police station. She was in the interrogation room, Emily and Gift walked in.

Michelle: You ruined my morning.
Emily: Did you see your brother? He’s here too.
Michelle: Brother?
Emily: Eric Johnson aka Blade.
Michelle: Oh, that fool. He’s my half-brother. What is he doing here?
Emily: He hired someone to steal the Majola file that contained the evidence.
Michelle: What was he going to do with the file?
Gift: Bongani.
Michelle: Bongani?! What was he going to do with the file? Wow, I didn’t know.
Emily: Do you know what we know though? We know that you lied about Tshidi and Majola exchanging texts. We also know that you had an affair with Majola’s lawyer who happens to be missing. Did you, Bongani and this lawyer kill Majola?
Michelle: No! I will admit I did some mistakes in the past but –
Emily: Did you have a part to play in this murder?
Michelle: No, please believe me.
Gift: Michelle why did you lie about Tshidi and Majola?
Michelle: When Majola found out I cheated on him again, he said he’s going to divorce me and ditch Phillip. I knew he was going to change his will testament and write me off, I wanted something that will stop that from happening. When we got married, Majola didn’t sign a prenup. My friend told me if Majola was going to write me off the will testament, I had to fight him. I had to get substantial evident that will at least get me support money every month even though he wrote me off.
Emily: Every month? I never heard of that.
Gift: The only law I know is criminal law.
Michelle: My friend told me that she did that and she at least got 30% of after her husband wrote her off the will testament.
Emily: It makes perfect sense why you would want him out of the picture.
Michelle: Many people say I killed Majola, it really hurts me a lot. People think that I’m heartless, I only care about myself – well, I do care about myself because nobody really cares about me. I raised myself, I taught myself everything I know now. Growing up I told myself that I deserve a wealthy man because I have been through hell. I have standards, people have called me a gold digger numerous times but I don’t care. Just because I have an expensive taste doesn’t mean I’m a gold digger, it simply means that I know what I want. I won’t lie, that past few months have been hell in my marriage but I truly loved Majola.
Gift: Where is Phillip?
Michelle: I last saw him at the funeral, we spoke and he disappeared.
Emily: Have you spoken to Bongani?
Michelle: No, I heard he ran away. It’s evident that he had a part to play in Majola’s death.
Gift: And you don’t?
Michelle: Not at all. I’m telling the truth, it may look like I don’t show remorse but that’s me. I want you guys to find Bongani, lock him up and throw the keys.
Emily: How was Bongani’s relationship with Phillip?
Michelle: I won’t say they were friends, it was okay.
Emily: Do you know Bongani’s friends?
Michelle: Bongani’s friends are studying in different cities but there’s Tyler, he lives in the neighbourhood.
Gift: Can you give us directions?
Michelle: Yes.
Gift: Let’s go.

Michelle directed them to Tyler’s house. Tyler was playing Xbox when Emily and Gift visited him.

Gift: Hello Tyler.
Tyler: Hey.
Gift: I’m Gift Mda, this is Emily Tontho and we’re detectives. We’re investigating the Majola case and we would like to ask you a few questions.
Tyler: Okay.
Emily: When was the last time you spoke to Bongani?
Tyler: He texted me a few minutes ago.
Gift: What did he write?
Tyler: Uhm…he said he was visiting his grandmother’s place.
Emily: Can we see the phone?
Tyler: Okay (hands the phone)
Emily: (reads the messages) We can track him down.
Gift: Yes.
Emily: We will hang unto this for a few hours, if you don’t mind.
Tyler: I don’t.
Gift: If you have another phone, don’t alert him, okay?
Tyler: I won’t do that, sir.
Emily: Did you usually visit Majola’s house?
Tyler: Not too often because I moved out a few months ago. I just came home to visit my parents but they’re at work right now. When I still lived here, I did visit Majola’s house more often.
Emily: When last did you talk to Majola?
Tyler: A day before he was brutally murdered. He was a really cool man, he liked making jokes and he was a great father and very, very, very protective of his daughters.
Gift: Ever experienced his protective ways?
Tyler: One day I was over at his house, his daughter came with his boyfriend and he chased him away.
Emily: Did you know Athabile’s boyfriend?
Tyler: Not personally, but I know him. I forgot his name, I think he’s Mark or Marcus, I don’t know.
Emily: Thank you for your time.
Tyler: I know this is none of my business but did Bongani do anything wrong?
Emily: We also want to find out.
Tyler: Oh.
Emily: Goodbye Tyler.
Tyler: Bye, take care.

Emily called Athabile to ask her where her boyfriend lived. She gave her the directions. They drove to Marcus’ house. He was wearing a blue overaller, fixing a car.

Gift: Marcus –
Marcus: Am I in trouble?
Gift: You must be Marcus.
Marcus: Yeah, who needs to know?
Gift: I’m Gift, this is my partner Emily. We’re detectives –
Marcus: What do you want?
Gift: We want to ask you a few questions.
Marcus: I’m busy.
Emily: It won’t take long.
Marcus: Ask.
Gift: Can you stop what you’re doing?
Marcus: You have to be quick because I need to get somewhere.
Emily: Is this your car?
Marcus: Yeah, it’s really old that’s why I’m fixing it. Let’s go sit on the stairs.

They went to sit on the stairs.

Gift: You’re dating Majola’s daughter, right?
Marcus: Yeah.
Gift: It must be hard dating a big shot’s daughter.
Marcus: There’s no challenge I don’t endure.
Gift: How was your relationship with Majola?
Marcus: I was in a relationship with his daughter not him. He was trying his best to stop the relationship from happening but his daughter loves me.
Emily: Do you?
Marcus: She’s my world, I love her. She’s not like the girls I used to date in the past.
Emily: Probably because she had a rich father.
Marcus: You’re trying to say I dated her because of Majola’s wealth?
Emily: Is that how you interpreted what I said?
Marcus: What else did you mean?
Gift: So going to Majola’s house was off limits, I can imagine?
Marcus: Yeah, I only went there twice. First time when she asked me to accompany her and the second time when I went to tell him how much I love his daughter.
Emily: Did he doubt you?
Marcus: Yes, to him I was a nobody. Just a poor coloured boy probably. I know men like him want their daughters to date rich guys or guys who had rich fathers. I just live in this house and I drive that car. I’m average.

Emily stood up, she went to check the car. Marcus quickly stood up.

Marcus: Hey! Hey! Hey! Get away from the car.
Emily: What are you hiding?
Marcus: Nothing, okay? I sprayed that car, those toxins will get you sick detective. I covered myself with a gas mask.
Emily: Pretty old car.
Marcus: Yeah it is, can we go back to the stairs.
Emily: Why are you rushing me like you’re hiding something?
Marcus: I’m not hiding anything.
Emily: Can I search your car?
Marcus: Why would you do that?
Emily: If you don’t have anything to hide, you would let me.
Marcus: You can’t.
Emily: There’s something you’re hiding.
Marcus: Leave my car alone!
Emily: That’s it, Gift let’s search this car.
Marcus: Please, there’s nothing you will find here.

Emily and Gift searched Marcus’ car they saw nothing. Emily saw papers hidden on the roof of the car inside. She took the papers and Marcus ran. Gift chased him but he was too fast, they got into the car and they chased him by car. While in pursuit, Emily saw that the papers were Majola’s will testament.

They managed to corner Marcus, Gift handcuffed him. He didn’t want to tell them what the papers were doing with him.

When they got to the station, Emily called Fred to check if Marcus was the guy he was talking about. When Fred got to the police station, they lined up suspects. Fred recognised Marcus and he confirmed that it was him.

Officer Mthembu and Vusi were trying to track down Bongani using Tyler’s phone and the recent messages he sent him. They even tried to act like Tyler but he didn’t respond to the texts.

Marcus was in the interrogation room.

Gift: Tell us everything.
Marcus: He never liked me and I never liked him too. When Bongani told me about his master plan to get rid of him, I liked it. I was going to get some money, a lot of money. I had plans for that money. The surveillance cameras weren’t working, I was told and we had to work fast. We weren’t planning to do that then but we took advantaged of the faulty cameras. He gave me the keys, everyone was out. He told me that he was going to shower then go have dinner with Michelle. I opened the door then I took out the keys. I hid there for almost an hour, I heard him enter. I wanted to attack him after he closed the door but I knew he was going to shout. I waited for him to take a shower, I knew with the water running, no one will hear him. He was about to shower, the water was running, I attacked him from behind. He fought, his adrenaline was kicking but I managed to finish him off. I made sure no one saw me leave. Bongani came in and acted all surprised as we planned. By the end of the day, he transferred money but not the specified amount but he promised to pay after he got more money from Majola’s account.
Emily: Why do you have Majola’s will testament?
Marcus: I took it from Majola’s lawyer.
Gift: Did Bongani bribe him?
Marcus: If that bastard agreed to take the bribe he would’ve been alive.
Emily: He’s dead?
Marcus: Bongani shot him and I finished him off.
Gift: Where is his body?
Marcus: (laughs) We buried it in the graveyard! Isn’t that funny?
Emily: You’re sick! You’re sick do you know that?
Marcus: I’m a genius!
Emily: Michelle wasn’t involved in any of this?
Marcus: No, she knew nothing. Only the masters were part of this master plan.
Gift: You will rot in hell.
Marcus: (laughs) I will save you a seat.
Emily: Did you speak to Bongani today?
Marcus: No.
Emily: You’re going to jail.
Gift: He’s going to rot in jail.
Marcus: Call the news people, every journalist in the country. I want them to know how genius I am.
Gift: You’re sick in the head.
Marcus: (laughs) I loved the rush! Ha!

They arrested Marcus. He made headlines, some blogs were apologising for accusing Michelle of murdering her husband. Athabile and her family couldn’t believe Marcus did such a thing. Bongani was still missing, posters of him were put up. A reward for anyone who could help find Bongani was offered. When Phillip’s family and friends found out, they were devastated. His body was found and returned to the family. He suffered two shots to the head, one to the heart, another to the chest and three to the stomach.

A week later. Emily and Gift were given medals for their exceptional work. Emily’s father was also thanked, he received his badges that were stripped off him years ago. Newspapers wanted a piece of the trio, they didn’t forget to thank everyone that helped with the case. Bongani was still missing.

Gift invited Emily over to his apartment.

Emily: Nice apartment.
Gift: Thanks, I try.
Emily: (sits) I’m happy that we completed the case.
Gift: That’s why I called you here for, we never really had our own celebration.
Emily: Oh?
Gift: I cooked.
Emily: (laughs) You did what?
Gift: Keep on laughing, you will be surprised when you taste my food.
Emily: Let’s hope you’re not blowing your own horn.
Gift: I’m a great cook.
Emily: Okay, we’ll see.
Gift: Before we eat, I just want to tell you something.
Emily: Yes?
Gift: I think you’re an incredible woman.
Emily: Aaw! Thanks.
Gift: We gave each other a hard time when we first met but we grew closer. You taught me so much and I’m not just saying that, I mean it. You humbled me, you made me see the bigger picture. I need someone like that in my life, forever.
Emily: What are you saying?
Gift: I also don’t want to hurt you because I have a reputation for hurting girls, I was told.
Emily: (laughs) Okay?
Gift: What I’m trying to say is, Emily I just want us to be friends and nothing more.
Emily: It’s…It’s fine.
Gift: Are you okay?
Emily: I’ll be okay, okay?
Gift: Please forgive me, you’re an incredible woman. Your dad doesn’t like me at all, I didn’t want you to choose between me and him. I’ve seen you with him, he’s your number one man in your life.
Emily: You make it seem like I don’t have my own life.
Gift: No, I’m not saying that. I’m sorry if I led you on.
Emily: I’m sorry if I led you on.
Gift: (laughs) Friends?
Emily: Of course!
Gift: Can we eat now?
Emily: Yes partner.
Gift: I’ll dish up.

After Emily had dinner at Gift’s apartment, Vusi wanted to meet her. They met up in the laboratory.

Emily: You wanted to meet me, what’s up?
Vusi: Nothing really, I just wanted to share something with. It’s been too long and I think it’s time.
Emily: Okay?
Vusi: I…I…I like you – very much.
Emily: I like you too, you’re a nice guy.
Vusi: I like you but not in the way you think I like you. Like, I have feelings for you Emily.
Emily: Vusi –
Vusi: I wanted to tell you long time ago but I couldn’t because something always came up. Your dad also helped me at one point, the last time I went to your house, remember?
Emily: Arg, dad is sneaky.
Vusi: (laughs) I’m grateful for him.
Emily: Yeah well –
Vusi: Do you want to go on a date with me tomorrow?
Emily: Vusi, I don’t want to disappoint you or lead you on. If you didn’t have feelings for someone and they asked you to go on a date with you, would you go?
Vusi: I don’t think so. I take it that you don’t feel the same way as I do?
Emily: Yes, I’m really truly sorry.
Vusi: Don’t be sorry, everyone gets rejected. It’s part of the human journey.
Emily: I hope this won’t mess up our good friendship.
Vusi: It won’t.
Emily: Good, see you around.
Vusi: Okay.

Bongani’s run was cut short when he was found in another country. Marcus and Majola were sentenced to life in prison without parole for first degree murder.

Majola’s family each received what Majola left for them. Michelle sold the house, she moved to another suburb. Tshidi is still running her small bakery shop, her cousins help her run the bakery. Nomzamo and Patrick got married. Athenkosi was chosen to participate in a soccer tournament overseas. Athabile still dreams of being a lawyer, she’s studying harder.

Who killed Majola? Bongani, his own son and his daughter’s boyfriend, Marcus. Bongani was money crazy, he was greedy and jealous of his father’s wealth. Everything was premeditated. Marcus was also money crazy, he never showed remorse for what he did, he just boasted about it. They will rot in jail.

The end.

14 thoughts on “#10 Who Killed Majola?

  1. WOW I dnt like reading atoriea anymore but this one made me to love reading again this is incredibly. WOW

    Like

Leave a comment